top of page
Search
  • ravensintheattic

Tell-Tale Ophelia by Juliette Sebock

Someone said I'll know love when my heartbeat changes,

Becomes your-name-your-name-your-name

And it did.


Except, when it speeds up,

Skips,

Makes the sky go black,

It's his-name-his-name-his-name-his-name-his-name-his-name

And I know how it feels to be careful,

Lest I go mad,

Lest he hear his name from beneath the floorboards.


And, try as I might,

I can't beat the pounding in my ears,

In my chest,

When it feels like he's you,

In this room,

Behind a velvet curtain,

Just under the water

Where I've drowned every day

Since that night

And every time you look into my eyes.


Juliette Sebock is the author of Mistakes Were Made and has work forthcoming or appearing in a variety of publications. She is the founding editor of Nightingale & Sparrow and runs a lifestyle blog, For the Sake of Good Taste.  When she isn't writing (and sometimes when she is), she can be found with a cup of coffee and her cat, Fitz.  Juliette can be reached on her website or across social media. 


35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Bloodlust by Chloe Gorman

Like a leech, he drained me. Slowly at first, until he cut a wound so deep the life cascaded from me like a tsunami. Bleeding. Dying. A husk was all that was left. An empty casket. A body devoid of a

wayward traveler by Linda M. Crate

rusted garden gate woven with ivy has secrets she'll never utter, but no one thinks to listen to the songs she sings subtle little reminders of where and how carefully to wander here; because there ar

death's gate by Linda M. Crate

gray clouds drifting past tombstones sing an ancient song, and she stands by the gate in her black gown tattered like the pages of an old book beyond repair; her long raven hair dances in the wind wil

bottom of page